2013: A Year of Good Gifts

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.” James 1:17

This year has been FULL. It has been full of good things and a few hard things. This year I graduated college, worked the best job ever at the best summer camp, and started an internship I knew almost nothing about beforehand. This year has been full of good people and full of learning. I have been both obedient and disobedient to my God. But despite my lack of consistency, my Father has always been faithful. This year was a gift from Him. 

ImageImageImage

Graduating college wasn’t something I thought would happen for most of my life. Therefore it was incredible to walk across the stage knowing that the last four years had been the best of my life. Despite all of the hard things that happened in college, I am certain that HBU was exactly where I was supposed to be. College is where I discovered what it means to be a leader, to love others well, and what it means to be complete in my Savior. To rest in the knowledge that I belong to and am delighted in by my Creator. This truth has changed my life. College is also where I met some of my favorite people in the world and I’m lucky to call them my best friends. 

Image

This summer was the best summer of my life. I worked for 13 weeks pouring into 2nd-5th graders and discipling college aged girls. It was so much fun. There were so many sweet moments with sweet kids and I worked with incredible people who taught me so much. I learned more this summer than I ever thought possible. This summer I felt at the center of God’s will, using the gifts He gave me to bring Him glory. What a blessing to be able to say that. This summer I learned even more how important it is to: know who you are, be who you are and enjoy who you are

ImageImage

Immediately after camp I started an internship at my church. I wanted to take a year off before grad school to learn and to enjoy life. I didn’t want to waste this year, I wanted to be challenged and discipled. Before starting the internship all I knew is that I had a place to live and I would be working in the Missions office. I didn’t know what my job would look like, how I would make money or who I was living with. I was leaving both my college and camp community and entering into a year long commitment with almost no knowledge of what it would look like. I was nervous but trusting God. I listened to the song Oceans by Hillsong United a lot, reminding myself that God had never failed me before. My internship has been truly incredible, more than I could have ever imagined. I work with amazing, wise people who teach me so much simply by the way they live their lives. I live with great roommates and am being discipled by people who love Jesus a lot and who truly live in obedience to Him. In the first four months of my internship I have traveled to New York and India and many times wondered how it’s possible that this is really my life. I have been challenged and had my Perspective on the world changed. I am only one third of the way into my internship and I marvel at the fact that I am getting this opportunity. How good is my God to give me this year of growth and learning. 

Image

 

Image

 

2013 has been full of uncertainties, insecurities, struggles with family and finances. Despite this, 2013 has also been full of grace. I don’t know what all 2014 holds but I do know that God has been telling me He wants to take me deeper with Him. I dedicate 2014 to less of me and more of Him. This year is a year of rest and preparation for the next season, whatever that may be. This year I want more of God and I want to truly seek deeper into His presence. I want to learn more what it means to truly abide in God’s presence. What has kept me from that in the past has been too much of me. Too much time, energy, and resources spent on myself and not enough spent on my Savior. I feel so loved that God cares about me enough to take me deeper with Him.

Take me deeper Father, I pray 2014 is a year spent sinking into the ocean of Your grace and goodness. 

Leave a Reply

