Gifts of Grace

As I sat outside my church today in the beautiful 70 degree weather waiting for a shuttle to take me to my car, I started crying. I was overwhelmed with the beauty of God’s grace.

The grace of my community, people who are like family. People who are for me, who love me and challenge me. People I get to worship and serve with. The grace of a weekend spent in my city worshipping Jesus with thousands of college students who want more of Him. The grace of prayer, that we have the power of communication with God. What grace.

The grace of a beautiful day on February 1, anything could happen in this new month. His mercies are new. The grace of freedom, of new life. I once walked in darkness and was under authority of my sin. But for almost ten years I have been alive, walking in the freedom of the cross. And God’s grace in bringing me from death to life is still a miracle, still something that drowns me in gratitude. I pray it always does. To walk in grace with God is not always easy but He is worth it, freedom is worth it. So today I choose to walk in freedom and love and grace. Speaking truth into the places of my heart that doubt, that fear, that want to choose insecurity.

Today I am overwhelmed by all the gifts of grace I walk in daily and rarely realize. Today I count the gifts of my Father. And I am brought to tears over how many there are. This is the abundant life. Despite the broken and sin filled world we live in, we can have joy and peace and community and love. Don’t let the enemy make you think that life with Jesus is anything but extraordinary. Gratitude turns everything into enough, into abundance.

10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly. John 10:10 ESV

Leave a Reply

